The Code of Canons of the Eastern Churches (Latin: Codex Canonum Ecclesiarum Orientalium, abbreviated CCEO) is the title of the 1990 codification of the common portions of the Canon Law for the 23 Eastern Catholic churches in the Catholic Church. It is divided into 30 titles and has a total of 1546 canons. The western Latin Church is governed by its own particular code of canons, the 1983 Code of Canon Law.

"One, holy, catholic and apostolic Church"

Despite any divisions, we recognize that all our sister churches belong to the one universal Catholic Church. Despite our differences, we all form part of the People of God. Christ is the vine, and we are the branches (Jn 15:5). Christ is the head of the body, the Church (Col 1:18), of which we are all members (1Cor 12:12-27). We celebrate our unity (Gal 3:28) and recognize our diversity (Rom 12:4-8).

What does it mean to be an independent Catholic Church?

Independent Catholic churches are Catholic congregations that are not in communion with the Roman Catholic Church or any other churches whose sacraments are recognized by the Roman Catholic Church (such as the Oriental Orthodox, Eastern Orthodox or Old Catholic).

Also see "CREED"


  1. I am the LORD your God: you shall not have strange Gods before me.

  2. You shall not take the name of the LORD your God in vain.

  3. Remember to keep holy the LORD'S Day.

  4. Honour your father and your mother.

  5. You shall commit murder.

  6. You shall not commit adultery.

  7. You shall not steal.

  8. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbour.

  9. You shall not covet your neighbour's wife.

  10. You shall not covet your neighbour's goods.


  • The church accepts the Old Testament and New Testament of the Bible as the inspired Word of God which is inerrant and the fundamental standard of faith, and the complete and final written revelation of God. It also adheres to the Nicene Creed. The church believes in the following doctrines:

  1. One eternal God is revealed in the trinity: Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

  2. The divinity and humanity of Jesus Christ, his virgin birth, sinless life, crucifixion and resurrection, ascension and intercession of the Holy Spirit.

  3. The outpouring of the Holy Spirit upon believers in Jerusalem after Jesus’ ascension, enabled them to preach the Gospel to the whole world.

  4. Separation of all mankind from God through man's sin.

  5. Immediate forgiveness of sins through repentance and acceptance of Jesus Christ.

  6. The person and work of indwelling and empowerment of the Holy Spirit through baptism for all believers.

  7. The practice of gifts of the Holy Spirit within scriptural guidelines for the common good (1Cor 12:4-7); Considers that agape love is more important than all the gifts, and without it, all exercise of spiritual gifts is worthless.

  8. Jesus Christ is the head of the church.

  9. The second coming of Jesus Christ will be personal and visible, which motivates active involvement of the laity in church activities.

  10. The resurrection of the body unto eternal life for the saved and unto eternal separation for the lost; But salvation, redemption and forgiveness are freely offered to all by the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Core values

  • For being distinguishable members of the Believers Eastern church, and for the message of the Word of God to be applied in an individual's life leading to greater maturity in Christ, the following are the official code of living.

  1. Knowing the Lord Jesus more fully and intimately.

  2. Being a people of integrity and excellence.

  3. Living in submission to God's Word.

  4. Being a people of faith.

  5. Being a people committed to prayer and worship.

  6. Having a servant lifestyle.

  7. Being a people of grace and love.

  8. Serving sacrificially.

  9. Being a people with a passion for souls.

  10. Being a people who work together with the Body of Christ

Roman Catholic & Other Catholic

  1. Roman Catholics are the largest Christian group; Catholics are a smaller group.

  2. Catholics St. James in origin.

  3. Catholics do not believe in papal authority.

  4. Catholics believe in original, unchanged Holy Scriptures.

  5. Catholics consider Mother Mary a mortal.

  6. Catholics do not believe in purgatory

Note: the OFE follows this Canon Code

Also see "CREED"

And the Formal code of doctrine and discipline on our blog.